When fear tries to steal your soul 

  The news from Paris is rightly frightening and devastating. People intentionally and callously destroyed in the name of a depraved cause. A cause which funds itself  from selling children, girls and women into forced ‘marriages’ where they are raped, violated, abused and then often resold. A cause that can justify that, can justify the terror they reigned on Paris last night.  

It’s ok to be sad. To rage with righteous anger. To feel the weight of what’s happening in Syria and its borders. To be frustrated with the complexities and what’s the right thing to do. But let’s determine to not give fear a hold. 

You see I can feel it’s icy grip on my soul. Can you? Sadly I recognise it’s imprint. This past 3 weeks I’ve stood toe to toe with fear. Refusing to let it take hold of my heart. We have been battling fear as a family. The details too personal to share and to be honest the details are not as vital as what we are learning. I have heard fear’s voice, I have felt it clutching at my heart, taunting my mind – especially in the night. I don’t remember a time when I have recited scripture so vehemently. I wake up, feel the knot tighten in my stomach and I begin again …

‘there is no fear in love, perfect love casts out all fear’ 

And I repeat it until the knot begins to loosen, until the spiral of thoughts that steal my peace are quietened enough for my sleep to return. 

Fear will not define our family or any of our futures. I refuse to let it. In the middle of one of the hardest seasons of my life I cling to my God and His promises over our lives. He is absolutely and completely real; all those who doubt. He is near. Father God is visible in the kindness of our closest ‘people’. The Holy Spirit whispers hope and purpose and eternity into my weary soul. My Jesus is close, he really meant it when he said He’d never leave me or forsake me. 

So in the midst of the terror on our news, don’t be tempted to turn it off and bury your head under a pillow. Instead fight the fear that it can bring. Lean into praying with confidence like you maybe never have before. Do not let fear steal your soul, your peace, your dreams of a good future for you and your family, and their families families. We have an inheritance. We are the people of Father God and we will not be shaken. Take courage friends. Take courage, stand firm and fight fear with love, joy and peace in the Holy Spirit. Let’s lead the way in this, let’s not let the fear bring terror. That’s the intention after all.  Let faith arise and our real enemy will be scattered. This is how we push back the darkness. Your Kingdom Come Lord. 

One thought on “When fear tries to steal your soul 

Leave a Reply

