Wisdom Eats: Coconut cinnamon pumpkin seed granola 

Jason and I have been trying to eat more healthily (not including France!?!) and my friend Janice recommended a great blog called The Little Green Spoon. I wouldn’t say we’re totally doing the whole ‘clean eating’ thing but we are trying to eat more fruit, vegetables, whole grains, cut down on sugar and processed foods.  I’d never made granola before as I always thought it was too much hassle; that was until I tried to buy some that didn’t contain sugar. 

Sugar is my drug of choice and I have a problem with it. I LOVE sugar, most of my life I’ve eaten too much of it every single day. I know it’s my weakness and I didn’t realise it was beginning to make me feel awful most of the time. Mood swings, hunger, nausea, tiredness and restlessness. When I began to limit the amount of it I ate I couldn’t believe how different I felt. The sugar cravings started to ease the less I ate of it. The nausea totally disappeared. My mood swings settled and my energy levels stabilised! That lead me to reading granola labels like a crazy person and deciding I needed to make my own granola. My pal Louise talked me through it one night at her house and I headed home to give it a go. I adapted this recipe Coconut and pistachio granola to suit what I had in my cupboard! Here’s what I came up with.

Ingredients:

1 Cup of Jumbo Oats 

1/2 Cup of Desiccated Coconut 

1/2 Cup of flaked almonds 

1/2 Cup of pumpkin seeds 

½ tsp ground cinnamon 

1/4 Cup of Coconut Oil (60ml)

1/4 Cup of Maple syrup 

Method:

Mix dry ingredients in a large bowl

Melt coconut oil and stir in maple syrup

Add wet ingredients to dry and mix well.

Thinly layer on top of grease paper on a baking tray.

Bake for 20mins at 180c 

Allow to cool

Completely and store in an airtight tub. 

Serve with fresh fruit, yoghurt and honey. Or with ice cold milk. 

Why not adapt it for yourself and share your variations below! 

Published by wisdomshouts

I once was shy then found my voice. I'm a wife to Jason, a mum to Caleb, Micah and Matty, an only daughter, friend and Spiritual Director. "Lady Wisdom goes out in the street and shouts." At the town center she makes her speech. In the middle of the traffic she takes her stand. At the busiest corner she calls out" (Proverbs 1:20-21 MSG)

Leave a comment